A couple of weeks ago I had the pleasure of photographing the very beautiful and very talented singer, songwriter and musician, Mae Challis.

I’m not going to lie, I was pretty nervous (and hung over) waiting for Mae outside The Fish Bar on Peel prom. But when she arrived, I was greeted by this bubbly, confident, shorter than I imagined, beautiful young woman and immediately I started to feel at ease. We sat in the sun and chatted about music and photography, whilst eating queenies, and drinking as much coffee as I could to help me function for the next hour or so.

Eventually we decided to have a walk around Peel harbour in the hope that we would get a few decent pictures along the way. I was pretty convinced that I was only going to take a couple of photos that day, but after taking the first few, I forgot all about my nervousness and just started to have fun! A roll of Fuji Superia 400 later and we were done 🙂

I was so grateful that Mae was comfortable in front of the camera. I wanted my first ‘proper’ shoot to be with someone who’d be relaxed and patient with me, because I knew I would be nervous and slow at setting up shots. Thankfully, Mae was.

Here are a few of my favourite photos from the day, it was really hard to narrow them down so I think I may be posting the rest in another one or two blogs soon. All images were made with my Olympus OM2n, Zuiko 50mm 1.4 lens on Fuji Superia 400 film. Scanned and developed at Peak Imaging.

CNV00006

CNV00011

CNV00031

CNV00021

CNV00036

CNV00026

CNV00033

CNV00029

