I was so excited when Phil told me he had downloaded my new batch of photos… I had been really looking forward to seeing them, which isn’t like me at all, usually I feel quite nervous about seeing the end results. Next came ‘Do you want the good news or the bad news?’, my heart sank, ‘What is it?’ I asked. ‘You’ve got some amazing shots, but the compact has a light leak…’. Well that was it, I thought, ‘Might as well throw the whole fucking lot in the bin 😦 !’. I had shot two rolls of film on the second-hand Olympus MjuII Zoom without a second thought of there being something wrong with it. Silly, silly Hannah. Phil reassured me ‘But some of the shots with the leak look fucking amazing’, he sent me a select few but I wasn’t convinced.

It wasn’t until later that day when we went through them all, that I realised having a light leak wasn’t the end of the world at all, and I was just being dramatic, as usual. Some of the images only had little dashes of light through them, like little sunbeams, and I loved them enough to not let them bother me. However, some of the images were that vivid and wild-looking that I’m sure the chemicals used to develop the film had been spiked with LSD!

Once I had got over my inital strop, I realised that these ‘imperfections’ actually made the pictures quite unique. Anyone could replicate these images, but to replicate them with the exact same light leaks would be near impossible, and that’s pretty cool 🙂

Here are a selection of my favourites. I absolutely love the colours, they’re so deep and rich looking.  They were taken using an Olympus MjuII Zoom and Agfa Vista 400 film. Developed and scanned by Peak Imaging in the UK.

CNV00019

CNV00030 (2)

CNV00027

CNV00032

CNV00031

CNV00026

CNV00028

