I’ve recently had a few pictures criticised, people distracted by minor things that I ‘should have thought about’ before pressing the button on my camera. But that’s not what photography is about to me. It’s about capturing a moment, its about authenticity and not controlling so much of what’s around you. With the ever increasing use of Photoshop, filters and pre-sets, I am becoming more and more sceptical of other peoples photographs, especially ones that appear ‘perfect’. So, I am happy with the slight distractions in my photos (bra strap and stray hair) because I’d rather my photos look  real rather than absolutely perfect.

Lorin was a fantastic model to work with! We met at Patchwork Café, where we took a few indoor portraits before having a wander around Port St Mary and then taking a trip up into the lovely Manx countryside. I think Lorin looks absolutely amazing in these photos, and I must admit I was totally jealous of her impressive eyeliner skills!

All images were made using a Nikon F100. Film stock is Fujifilm Superia X-tra 400, shot at box speed. Developed and scanned by Peak Imaging in the UK.

image

image

image

CNV00005

image

image

image

CNV00021

